WISCONSIN

MINUTES

REORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE WISCONSIN RAPIDS COMMON COUNCIL TUESDAY, APRIL 20, 2021 6:00 P.M.

A reorganizational meeting of the Wisconsin Rapids Common Council was held in the Council Chambers at City Hall and via remote videoconferencing on Tuesday, April 20, 2021, at 6:00 p.m. The public was invited to listen to the audio of the meeting. The meeting was also streamed LIVE on the City's Facebook page. Members of the public who wished to submit comments to the Council regarding an agenda item were directed to contact the Mayor. No comments were received by the Mayor.

1. Call to Order

Mayor Blaser called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m.

2. Roll Call

Roll call indicated that all alderpersons were present:

Ryan Austin (via videoconference)

Dean Veneman

Matt Zacher

Tom Rayome

Sheri Evanson

Jake Cattanach

Thaddeus Kubisiak

Jay Bemke

3. Pledge of Allegiance and Silent Prayer in Lieu of Invocation

Mayor Blaser requested that all present stand for the Pledge of Allegiance and a moment of silent prayer.

4. Oaths of Office for Alderpersons in Districts 1, 3, 5, 7

Oaths of office for Alderpersons Ryan Austin, Matt Zacher, Sheri Evanson, and Thad Kubisiak were administered by City Clerk Jennifer M. Gossick.

5. Election of a Common Council President

Bemke nominated Kubisiak, and the nomination was accepted. It was moved by Veneman, seconded by Bemke to close nominations and approve Kubisiak as the Common Council President. Kubisiak was approved by a vote of 8 ayes and 0 nays.

6. Mayor Blaser's Appointments to Standing Committees of the Common Council Mayor Blaser made the following appointments:

Finance and Property Committee

Tom Rayome Jake Cattanach

Jay Bemke

Public Works Committee

Thaddeus Kubisiak

Ryan Austin

Matt Zacher

Human Resources Committee

Jay Bemke

Dean Veneman

- 7. The Newly Appointed Committees will meet to elect Chairpersons and Secretaries The committees met and elected:
 - a. Tom Rayome as Chairperson and Jake Cattanach as Secretary of the Finance and Property Committee;
 - b. Thaddeus Kubisiak as Chairperson and Ryan Austin as Secretary of the Public Works Committee;
 - c. Jay Bemke as Chairperson and Dean Veneman as Secretary of the Human Resources Committee.
- 8. Election of an Alderperson to the Planning Commission, to serve a term expiring April 19, 2022. (2/3 vote required)

Rayome nominated Bemke, and the nomination was declined. Kubisiak nominated Austin and the nomination was accepted. It was moved by Kubisiak, seconded by Veneman to close nominations and to approve Austin as the Alderperson member to the Planning Commission for a term expiring April 19, 2022. Motion carried, 8 ayes and 0 nays.

- 9. Election of an Alderperson to the Park and Recreation Commission, to serve for the Alderperson's term of office Evanson nominated Cattanach; Austin nominated Veneman and both nominations were accepted. Nominations were closed and a vote was taken. Veneman was approved as the Alderperson member to the Park and Recreation Commission to serve for his term of office with Alderpersons from Districts 1, 2, 3, 4, and 8 voting for Veneman and Alderpersons from Districts 5, 6, and 7 voting for Cattanach.
- 10. Election of an Alderperson to the Water Works and Lighting Commission, to serve for the Alderperson's term of office

Kubisiak nominated Bemke. It was moved by Kubisiak, seconded by Veneman to close nominations and to approve Bemke as the Alderperson member to the Water Works and Lighting Commission to serve for his term of office. Motion carried, 8 ayes and 0 nays.

11. Election of an Alderperson to serve as an Alternate on the Ethics Board, for a term which expires in November 2024

Bemke nominated Kubisiak and the nomination was accepted. It was moved by Bemke, seconded by Cattanach to close nominations and to approve Kubisiak as the Alderperson member to serve as an Alternate on the Ethics Board, for a term expiring November 2024. Motion carried, 8 ayes and 0 nays.

12. Consider the reappointment of William Menzel, 3430 Norton Street, #207, to the Ethics Board for a term expiring November 1, 2023

It was moved by Kubisiak, seconded by Bemke to reappoint William Menzel, 3430 Norton Street, #207, to the Ethics Board for a term expiring November 1, 2023. Motion carried, 8 ayes and 0 nays.

13. Consider for confirmation Mayor Blaser's Appointments to various Committees, Commission and Boards Mayor Blaser made the following appointments:

Board of Review

Peter Kastenholz, 1430 Sherwood Court, is reappointed as a regular member to a term expiring 5/1/2026 Don Walloch, 1510 Sherwood Court, is appointed as a regular member to a term expiring 5/1/2026

Convention & Visitor's Bureau

Scott Kellogg, 511 Elm Street, is reappointed as a regular member to a term expiring 4/20/2023

Housing Authority

Cheryl Reith Kincaid, 2521 10th Street South Apt. #108, is reappointed as a regular member to a term expiring 04/30/2026

Library Board

Doug Machon, 840 5th Street South, is appointed as a regular member to fill a term formally held by Heather Gygi, expiring 7/1/2023

Park and Recreation Commission

Patrick Gatterman, 251 2nd St. S, Apt. #202, is appointed as a regular member to a term expiring 5/1/2026

Planning Commission

Eric Daven, 2811 21st Place South, is appointed as a regular member to a term expiring 5/1/2024

Wastewater Treatment Commission

Peter Jennings, 474 Badger Avenue, is reappointed as a regular member to a term expiring 6/1/2026

Zoning Board of Appeals

Lee Gossick, 541 Wisconsin St., is reappointed as a regular member to a term expiring 11/1/2023 Jerry Feith, 550 3rd St., is reappointed as a regular member to a term expiring 11/1/2023

It was moved by Kubisiak, seconded by Veneman to approve Mayor Blaser's appointments to various Committees, Commissions and Boards as presented. Motion carried, 8 ayes and 0 nays.

14. Referrals to Committees

Cattanach made a referral to the Public Works Committee regarding overnight parking.

15. Adjournment

It was moved by Bemke, seconded by Zacher to adjourn. Motion carried, 8 ayes and 0 nays. The meeting adjourned at 6:26 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jennifer M. Gossick, City Clerk