

## Community Development Department

City of Wisconsin Rapids 444 West Grand Avenue Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54495 Ph: (715) 421-8228

## REPORT OF THE HISTORIC PRESERVATION COMMISSION MEETING

March 16, 2023

The Historic Preservation Commission met at 4:00 p.m. on March 16, 2023 in the Council Chambers at City Hall, 444 West Grand Avenue, Wisconsin Rapids. It was also streamed live on the City of Wisconsin Rapids Facebook page, Charter Cable Channel 985 and Solarus HD Cable Channel 3. Members present were: Jackie Bredl Dietrich, Michael Hittner, William Parker, Justin Pleuss and 1st Alternate Jeff Penzkover; Ryan Austin joined via Zoom. Also present were Community Development Director Kyle Kearns, Associate Planner Carrie Edmondson, Alderperson Dennis Polach, Jason Tish and Phil Brown.

1. Call meeting to order

The meeting was called to order at 4:00 p.m. by Director Kearns.

2. Election of Chair and Vice Chair

Motion by Commissioner Parker to elect Mike Hittner as Chairperson; second by Penzkover.

Motion carried (5-0)

Motion by Commissioner Hittner to elect Jackie Bredl Dietrich as Vice Chairperson; second by Pleuss.

Motion carried (5-0)

3. Update on the status of Certified Local Government designation request

Carrie Edmondson provided an update on the request by the City to receive CLG status. Jason Tish added comments about the program and process. Conversations ensued regarding appeal processes and funding.

- **4.** Discussion and presentation of work program including Historic Preservation Commission roles and responsibilities of the Historic Preservation Commission and referenced training materials.
- **5.** Discussion on next steps including to apply for CLG funds to conduct local property survey

  Jason Tish summarized the processes for applying for funds. Carrie Edmondson added information regarding the City's property survey.
- 6. Schedule regular meeting time

Commissioners confirmed bi-monthly meetings. The next meeting is scheduled for Thursday, May 25<sup>th</sup> in the City Hall Council Chambers.

7. Adjourn

Motion by Bredl Dietrich to adjourn; second by Parker

Motion carried (5-0)

Meeting adjourned at 5:11 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Erika Esser, Secretary