MINUTES

McMillan Memorial Library By-Laws Committee September 10, 2020



President Farmbrough called the By-Laws Committee meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

ROLL CALL ATTENDANCE:

Present in person: William Clendenning and Scott Kelloga

Present via Zoom: David Farmbrough, Susan Feith, and William Hascall

Administration: Andrew Barnett and Vicki Steiner

Mr. Barnett established that this was an open meeting conducted via Zoom and appropriate public notice was given.

David Farmbrough asked for nominations of a chair for this committee.

A motion to nominate Ms. Feith as chair of the committee was made by Mr. Clendenning, second by Mr. Kellogg. Motion carried.

Ms. Feith noted that the committee be aware of changes made by previous Boards. The committee members will talk through the document and submit a draft to legal counsel for review.

Black Article 1, strike

Red Article 1, Strike "by the Wisconsin municipality of Wisconsin Rapids," A motion to approve the red Article 1 update with noted strike was made by Mr. Hascall, second by Mr. Kellogg. Motion carried.

Red Article II, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. The question of whether this should be included and where was discussed. It was agreed to set aside for now and consult legal counsel before including it in these By Laws.

Black Article II, Object, Discussion followed. A motion was made by Mr. Hascall to keep black Article II as written but strike "records and films" from Section 3, second by Mr. Kellogg. Motion carried.

Black Article III – Members, strike original language.

Red Article III was read and discussed. Section 1, first and last sentence to remain as written, the balance to be struck. Section 2 to remain. Approved by unanimous consent.

The next meeting of the By Laws committee will be held on Thursday, September 17, 2020 at 5pm. An updated draft of the document, with approved changes, will be submitted to all committee members.

A motion to adjourn was made by Mr. Clendenning, second by Mr. Hascall. Motion carried and the meeting adjourned at 6:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Vicki Steiner, Secretary